RSS

Custom Cake Stands

25 Feb

This idea first came from my sister in law Jayne so I want to give credit where credit is due.  Plus she has some very unpleasant pictures from Bear Lake that could be circulated if I am not careful.  She gave me the cutest cake stand for Christmas filled with wonderful popcorn  ( I will get that recipe).  She made it in Relief Society.  I didn’t even know she went to those activities.  Well it has inspired me to make these.  Jordan had to take a dessert to her her friend Annie’s baby shower and she was told to bring them on a black or yellow platter.  So this is what we came up with.  Pretty cute if I say so myself.

These are so easy and the possibilities are endless.  You can make custom cake stands for every occassion.  Great gifts.  I loved mine!!!!!

All it takes is a plate, a candlestick and some glue that works on ceramic or glass.  I found these glass candlesticks at Hobby Lobby and they were 50% off.  They only cost me $2.50 and $3.00 each.  I found the plates there also.  These were some of their more expensive plates and I think they cost me about $9.00 each, but I loved them.  They had some really cute ones in all different colors.   I have been looking at second hand stores and antique stores for old candle sticks and plates.  I am thinking some old fashioned china plates would be extra cute and you could make some smaller platters with the salad plates. My mind is spinning!!  Just ask my kids if I get a little carried away when I find something I really like. I will be coming home with bags of plates and candlesticks.  This is much different than the cotton candy and snow cone machines.

Just glue the plate to the candlestick with the  glass glue and let it set overnight—-DONE!!!

Be sure to include instructions to not soak the platter or wash it in the dishwasher if you are giving it as a gift.   Have fun!!!!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 25, 2012 in DIY

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

