RSS

Crock Pot Dinners

27 Feb

I want to make sure that mom has meals available so that she eats well. She just is not able to fix meals for herself anymore.  We have purchased pre-made meals in the past and they were very good but she tired of them easily, as they had the same menus weekly. The one that we used that was very good was Dinners By Diana in Layton.  All of her meals are very good and taste just like you made them at home.  We have been using them for about 1 year. Dad loved them especially the ribs.  Mom was getting tired of the same meals, even though they were so good.  So I have tried something new and it has worked out really well.  I pre-make crock pot meals.  I freeze them and each morning someone comes over and pops one in the crockpot.  These meals are ready and hot when the CNA comes in the evening.  They dish it up and eat with her which brings me alot of comfort knowing she is not alone when we are not there.  I use the crockpot liners so there is no clean up.  I label each crockpot with instructions.  If there is some ingredients that need to be added near the end, I write those instructions on an index card and staple it to the ziplock dinner.  This can be removed and placed by the crockpot so that whoever is fixing dinner will know what to add.  I also put instructions on this card telling what the meal is to be served with–mashed potatoes, spaghetti, etc.  This has worked out so well and I have found some great recipes.  This would be great for mothers with small children or working moms.  You can cook the entire week on one day.  It is so much easier to chop all your veggies at one time. I usually make two of each recipe when I am making them.  It is also cheaper to buy meat in bulk.

This has saved my life and made it possible to spend more time with mom when I am up there instead of cooking all day.  I will be posting one of these recipes each week.  Hope you enjoy them.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 27, 2012 in Crockpot Dinners

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

