RSS

My Malboro Man

05 Mar

I am crazy about Pioneer Woman.  If you have not ever followed her blog, it is amazing and is just the kind of food that my boys love.  Dave was raised on a cattle ranch and grew up with meat and potatoes as a staple.  I loved going to stay at the ranch because you started off with a huge breakfast with eggs, bacon, toast–the works.  The kind of breakfast that would be called “artery clogger” now.  Then lunch or “dinner” would be another big meal with meat and potatoes and all the fixings.  In the evening “supper” would usually be some leftover rolls from dinner stuffed with more meat.  Then there wa always pie ( and did she make great pie) or a hot fudge sundae.  If I had spent more time than I did there, they would be transporting me in the cattle trailer and weighing me on the cattle scales. 

It was so wonderful up there and was like traveling back in time.  There was no traffic, no hurry and you could saddle up a horse and ride for days.  Whenever we asked our kids where they wanted to go –it was ALWAYS the ranch. Never Disneyland like other kids. But with horses, cattle, old barns to explore, days spent either helping Grandma in the kitchen or grandpa on the ranch, who needed Disneyland.  The ranch has since been sold, but the memories will be with us forever. As I am writing this I can’t help but shed some tears remembering just how amazing it was up there and how much I loved it.  When we left each time, the kids and I did not stop bawling until we hit Baker (an hour away).  Thanks so much Grandm and Grandpa.

Well anyway back to where I started, Pioneer Woman.  You can follow her blog at Pioneer Woman.com.  She also has a great cookbook out and has a Saturday morning show on the food channel.  She is living my dream life out on a big cattle ranch in Oklahoma ( okay the dream life I would want if I didn’t have my own).  She refers to her husband as the Malboro man and often posts pictures of only the rear end shot in his Wranglers.  Well I have my own Malboro man and there is nothing like his rear end in Wranglers.  What’s that saying “Wranger Butts Drive Me Nuts!!!”

So here is my very own “Malboro Man”.

EVERYTHING LOOKS BETTER FROM THE BACK OF A HORSE!!!!!

 

 

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

