RSS

Ruths Chris Sweet Potato Casserole

05 Mar

We just finished a great Sunday dinner.  I love Sundays when we can all set down together at one time.  That does not happen any other day of the week.  We have some our best talks here and some of our funniest times.  Today we talked about what we had learned at Church and it made for a really great discussion and learning time for all of us.  I made honey glazed ham, sweet potato casserole,steamed broccoli with parmesan cheese, hot rolls with cinnamon honey butter and waldorf salad.  I must say so myself, it was pretty darn tasty.

I am going to post the recipe for the sweet potato casserole. This tastes like the one at Ruths Chris Steakhouse.  This is so good it could be served as a dessert.

This is Layne eyeing the honey glazed ham!!!!!!!!!

Sweet Potato Casserole

INGREDIENTS

CRUST
1 CUP CHOPPED PECANS
1 CUP BROWN SUGAR
1/3 CUP MELTED BUTTER
1/3 CUP FLOUR
FILLING
3 CUPS MASHED SWEET POTATOES
1 CUP SUGAR
1/2 TSP SALT
1 TSP VANILLA
2  EGGS WELL BEATEN
1 STICK BUTTER MELTED

DIRECTIONS
COMBINE CRUST INGREDIENTS AND SET ASIDE.  MIX FILLING INGREDIENTS WITH AN ELECTRIC MIXER UNTIL COMBINED AND FLUFFY.  PLACE FILLING IN A GREASED CASSEROLE DISH.  BAKE AT 350 DEGREES FOR 30 MINUTES.  SPRINKLE CRUST MIXTURE ON TOP AND RETURN TO OVEN AND BAKE FOR 10 MINUTES LONGER OR UNTIL GOLDEN BROWN  (  I FIND IT TAKES A LITTLE LONGER THAN THIS).  IF MAKING AHEAD, BAKE  MIXTURE AND THEN REFRIGERATE.  WHEN READY TO SERVE REMOVE FROM REFRIGERATOR AND BRING TO ROOM TEMPERATURE.  SPRINKLE WITH CRUST AND BAKE.

If you want a great dinner, save up and go to Ruths Chris Steakhouse. I think the steak there is the best I have  ever had.  You can cut it with a spoon.  Try the calamari appetizer. It is wonderful.  Great place when you are celebrating something very special.

I never liked sweet potatoes growing up.  It was not until I got married and tried Aunt Heidi’s sweet potatoes that I realized what I was missing.  She was in charge of this dish every Thanksgiving.  I can remember the first time I tried them was when we went up to Oregon for Thanksgiving and I have been hooked since then.   Of course everything tasted better on the Ranch!!!

Note the sweet potatoes coming out of the oven!!!!!!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 5, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

