RSS

Rustic Apple Pie

04 Jun

 

Dave loves apple pie, but I am not a big fan of rolling out pie crust and trying to keep it looking good without overworking it and making it tough.  I also hate to be compared to his mother, who makes the best pies I have ever tasted. So I was thrilled to see this recipe on Pioneer Woman’s show on Saturday. It is what she calls her flat apple pie.  I tweeked it a little and it was so easy and sooo good. 

 Dave and Jace were coming back from a long day shoeing in Mackey Idaho.  They did 9 head of horses in 6 hours.  Then add 6 hours of driving and they were 2  very tired boys.  I had this waiting and they didn’t even sit down to eat it.  Big thumbs up.  

The recipe makes 2 large pies, but we divided the second pie up into 4 smaller individual pies and they were perfect. I heated them up a bit, drizzled the caramel sauce over them and then added a large scoop of vanilla ice cream.  These smaller ones would be perfect for a party, so cute and you would not have to worry about cutting them.  I love these!!!!!

I have a pie crust recipe that I love and have used for years, but this has become my new favorite.  The addition of the butter added to what is basically my old recipe, gives it such a nice texture and a little richer flavor. It is amazing.

The caramel sauce is so easy and really delicious. It just puts these pies over the top. It does become a little grainy if used the next day, so you will have to warm it up again prior to serving. I was able to look past this as I took spoonfuls out of the container in the night. Didn’t mind at all!!!

PIE CRUST 

3 cups flour

1 tsp. salt

3/4 cup butter

3/4 cup shortening

1 slightly beaten egg. 

5 TB cold water

1 TB vinegar

Cut butter and shortening into the flour until they are about the size of small peas.  Add the egg and the water and vinegar. I like to add about 2-3 TB sugar to this.  Do not overmix.  Divide into 2 balls and place each one in a ziplock. Shape them into round disks and place them into the refrigerator and chill until needed.  They could be frozen at this point if desired.

 

APPLE PIE FILLING

5-6 granny smith apples, peeled and sliced

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

3 TB flour

dash of salt

juice of one lemon

Mix all together

Now for the fun part. Take one of the pie crusts out of the fridge.  Roll out into a large circle. Transfer pie crust to a large cookie sheet.  Place half of the filling in the middle of the pie crust. Now start by pulling up one edge of the crust towards the middle. Keep going around the circle pulling the edge overlapping the previous piece, until all are pulled inward.  Dab a little butter on the filling and sprinkle with some sugar.

Bake at 375-400 degrees for about 30 minutes until starting to brown on the edges.

Like I said, I made some smaller ones and they were perfect. One hint–the first batch we placed the pies directly on the cookie sheet and it became a little soggy while cooking as the juices ran out of the pies. This lengthened the cooking time and made the bottom a little soggy. The next batch we baked, I placed a cooling rack on the cookie sheet and placed the pies on that–much better.  Next time I will do this, but I will also cover the cookie sheet with tin foil to make clean up a bit easier.

CARAMEL SAUCE

4 TB butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup half and half

1 TB vanilla

pinch of salt

Melt butter in saucepan.  Add brown sugar and half and half.  Cook until thickened and then add the vanilla.  This thickens up quite a bit when cooled so you do not need to cook very long. I stopped when it was about the consistency of syrup.  This is evil!!!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 4, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

