RSS

Chips and Salsa

06 Jun

I love chips and salsa. I mean I really, really love chips and salsa. I would give anything if this was a health food snack and listed as one of the 0 point weight watchers snacks.  I could eat these every night of my life and not get tired of them. I am a little picky about my chips though. I love the light, salty chips, like the ones at Chili’s.  Up until now the only place I have found ones that I like this much are at Chili’s so since we don’t go out to dinner that much, this is not a problem or a daily temptation.  Well that has now changed.  I found the most amazing tortilla chips and that is coming from an expert in the field of tortilla chips.

They are called Xochitl and you can find them at Albertsons.  They are so good.  They taste just like the ones from Chilis. These are even better if you zap them in the microwave for a few seconds and they taste like they just came out of the fryer.  Soooo good!!!!

These are great plain, with salsa or as nachos.  Sprinkle some cheese over them and microwave for a minute or until the cheese is melted.  Better yet melt the cheese over them and then serve them with salsa, guacomole or pico.  You have got to try these.

I have a great salsa recipe that I got from my sister in law Sharon years ago.  I have made so many batches of this salsa, over the years and have not found one that I like better.  It is a very mild salsa with just a little hint of sweetness to it.  So if you like the hot stuff, this is not the salsa for you.

I have given pints of this away for Christmas with a bag of chips.  Now I know what chips I will be using.

SALSA

12 quarts  tomatoes

8 green peppers

 8 onions

5 jalepeno peppers

 2 cups vinegar

3 tsp cumin

3 tsp garlic powder

4 TB salt

1/4 cup brown sugar

Process  tomatoes in food processor until chunky.  Do not over process.  Process peppers and onions until finely minced but not pureed.  Place tomatoes in large sauce pan and simmer for about 2-3 hours until some of the liquid has been reduced.  Add remaining ingredients and simmer until desired consistency.  I remove the seeds from half of the jalepenos. You may want to leave all of them in if you like it spicey.  Place in jars and process for 25 minutes.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 6, 2012 in My Favorite Things, Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

