RSS

Frozen Bananas

06 Jun

One of my only memories of Disneyland when I was little, was the chocolate dipped frozen bananas,  I am not a big fan of amusment parks and for years I have let my daughters think that I really enjoyed going to Disney World every year for the National Cheer Competition.  I hated Disney World. There I have said it and can now stop living a lie.  I loved being with the girls and watching the competitions, but hated just about everything about the Disney World experience.  The crowds, the lines, the rides that made me want to throw up, peeing my pants in the haunted house and having a very large bird poop on my head.  But I did like the frozen bananas!!!

So when we went to Sea World, I thought for sure there would be frozen banans.  I looked everywhere and asked every vendor I could find, if they had them.  I was getting tired by the end of the day and I am sure there was talk amongst the concession stands concerning the crazed women looking for a frozen banana.  I was obsessed.

Well as soon as I got home I made my own and they were every bit as good as I remember.

These are so easy and the possibilities are endless.

Peel bananas and cut them in half.  Insert popsicle sticks into the cut end and place them on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.  Freeze about 30 minutes.

Melt dark chocolate chips in a double boiler.  Dip frozen bananas into the melted chocolate. (I love dark chocolate, but any kind will work).

Roll dipped bananas into the topping of your choice and return them to the freezer. Some options are chopped nuts (my favorite are peanuts), mini chocolate chips, sprinkles (kids love these) or rice krispies.  You can also leave them plain with just the melted chocolate, or drizzle white chocolate over them.  Be creative.

Store in an airtight container.

Disneyland without the crowd!!!!!!!!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 6, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

