RSS

Teriyaki Round Steak

11 Jun

This is a recipe that I have not made in years.  It was one of my kids favorite dinners when they were small, but I had forgotten all about it. I found it the other day when going through all of my old recipes.  I am trying to organize my recipes and put all of my favorites in one book so that I can give each of my kids a copy when they get married.  Right now I have them in so many different places, some scribbled down on scraps of paper, some ripped out of magazines and many found in one of my 100 cookbooks. It is so frustrating to want to make something and knowing the recipe is in there SOMEWHERE.  I made this for Sunday dinner today and it was better than I even remember.  The origianl recipe catagorizes this as an appetizer, but we love it for a main course.  It is great for a summer BBQ because all the work can be done ahead and the actual cooking time is very short. These are so good and so easy.

1 round steak

garlic salt

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup soy sauce  (shoyu)

1/2 tsp accent

fresh ginger root grated to taste

Soak wooden skewers in water for 30 minutes.  Slice steak into thin strips.  ( I find that if you put the steak in the freezer until partially frozen, it is much easier to slice, especially if you like the slices very thin.  I like these slices to be about 1/8 -1/4 inch thick. Put in a shallow pan and sprinkle with garlic salt. 

Combine the brown sugar, soy sauce, accent and ginger.  Pour over meat and marinate for at least 1 hour.  I usually place in ziplock bag and marinate over night.

Thread meat on skewers.  Grill over high heat for about 5-6 minutes on each side.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 11, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

