RSS

PERU –WEEK ONE — WILL I MAKE IT!!!!!

16 Jun

Well not actually one week, more like 4 days, but who’s counting!!!

Jordan left for Peru this past Tuesday.  She will be gone for 7 weeks.  She flew over with an organization called Eagle Condor.  They do humanitarian trips in several different countries.  She will be with them for the first 10 days and then 5 of them will be staying on for the remainder of the 7 weeks to do an internship.  They will be working in several of the orphanages there.  She went with her good friend Lexi Jensen. They are also traveling with the Timothys–Brad and Karen, Paul and Tara.  Paul and Tara will stay after with Jordan, Lexi and one other girl.  There has been a small glitch in the original orphanage, so they are not quite sure where they will end up.

They flew to Houston and then on to Lima on Tuesday.  The next morning they flew to Cuzco.  That first day they rested and then did a little site seeing The next morning they traveled to a small village where they spent the day painting a school and all of the furniture in it. 

 From the pictures, it looks like they did an awful lot of playing with the kids. Jordan said the big hit was the fingernail polish that she brought.  She said that they started by painting a few girl’s hands and then before she knew it, her and Lexi were surrounded by a swarm of little brown hands. Tonight they are going to a ward talent show.

I have talked to her twice and she is loving it, but rather homesick.  That poor girl –she is just like her mother.  I get so homesick even when I am gone to DC for 3 days.  I told her to not spend any time being homesick.  This is a once in a lifetime adventure and we will all be her when she gets back.  I will post her adventures every few days, along with my favorite pictures.  Of course they will all be of her.

I did not expect to miss her this much.  Tonight I sprayed her perfume on our pillow and Charlie and I curled up on it.  He wanted to be right on top of it.  I know that is pathetic.  No wonder none of them are married.  I can’t give them up!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 16, 2012 in Whats up with the fam

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

