RSS

Breakfast Burrittos on the Go

19 Jun

I

I love sausage, scrambled eggs, cheese, hashbrowns, salsa and tortillas.  So it is no wonder that I love breakfast burritos.  I have seen many recipes for these and have just added a little of each and I can say that I have probably made them different every time I make them.  I use what is on hand and what I am in the mood for.  These are so good for making ahead and freezing.  Grab one and throw it in the microwave before you leave in the morning and you have a great breakfast.  Grab a snack cup from yesterday’s post and you have it made.  I will give the basic recipe and then give some options to add.  You really cannot mess these up.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound Breakfast Sausage
  • 12 whole Eggs
  • Chopped Chives, to tasteSeasoned Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup Monterey Jack or Cheddar Cheese
  • Flour Tortillas

Preparation Instructions

Brown a pound of your favorite kind of breakfast sausage. Drain off the fat.

In a bowl, whisk together a dozen eggs (adjust according to your needs), chopped chives, seasoned salt, black pepper and about 1 cup of  cheese. If you are feeling saucy add some cayenne pepper or Tabasco sauce for a little more of a kick.

Once your sausage is browned and drained, pour the egg/cheese mixture over the sausage. Cook over low heat and turn them occasionally to cook.

When fully cooked throw some into a nice warm tortilla, wrap it up and, if they need to be kept warm for a bit, wrap them individually in sheets of foil. If making them ahead, I wrap in saran wrap and freeze. They can be microwaved right out of the freezer.

Some things I like to add:

Hashbrowns–just brown and add to the sausage

Pico de Galo

Spinach

Tomatoes

Basil

Onions–cooked with the sausage

Bacon

These are also great for a breakfast buffet, wrapped individually in foil to keep warm.

As a side note–if you want to make these more weight watcher friendly- make them with low fat turkey sausage, eggwhites or eggbeaters, weight watchers low fat cheese, spinach, tomatoes and onions.  Can hardly tell the difference

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 19, 2012 in Recipes, Weight Watchers

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

