RSS

Homemade Granola Bars

27 Jun

These are so good.  I am going to give you two versions.  I love both of them.  I am not sure they fall under the catagory of the lowest fat granola bars but they are worth it.

First version (This is the original recipe. I got this from my visiting teacher when we were first married and living in Mutton Hollow.  I made many a batch of these when the kids were small)  They are a dryer and more crumbly bar. I often just crumbled them up and used it as granola.

3 cups oatmeal

1 cup coconut

1 cup cashews  ( can use any nut, but this is my favorite)

1 cup flour

2 bags of chopped dates  ( this is my addition and not on original recipe–but makes these so much better)

1/3 cup honey

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup butter

 

 

 

Bring the honey, butter and the brown sugar to a boil.  Pour over the remaining ingredients. Press into a 9×13 pan. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes.  Cool and cut into squares.  This is also good crumbled and served over yogurt and fruit.

Second version:  Follow instructions for first version except add 4 TB more butter and about 1/4 cup more brown sugar and 2 tsp vanilla.  Bake about 30 minutes.  These are much more gooey and chewey. Both are so good, just depends on what you are in the mood for.  I have to say-I prefer the gooey, chewey extra butter version.  I don’t know why I think just because they are “granola bars” I think they are a health food!!!!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 27, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

