RSS

Nutella Ice Cream

30 Jun

I have a new love in my life.  It is not Nutella, that is an old and mature love that has become sweeter with time. I purchased a new ice cream maker.  I did so after spending 45 minutes trying to get some ice cream to set up with my old one.  It never did set up and we all lost interest before it was finally done– or should I say at least set up enough to pour over some fresh fruit.  So I visited my favorite store (williams and sonoma–you should know that about me by now) on my way home from work on Tuesday and purchased this wonderful Cuisinart ice cream and sorbet maker.  I love, love, love it.

Everyone is out of town–Jordan in Peru, Jace in Hawaii, Dave at scout camp ( yes you heard me right) and Kallie at work, so I decided to try it out.  I purchased this great stuff a Harmons.  It is Meadow Gold reduced fat ice cream base. You will find it in the dairy section by the milk. It is great to have on hand when the urge hits.  The problem is that it hits too often.

Well anyway, I decided to try out the new machine and see if it was better than our old one. I know someone had to do it.  I just was not in the mood for plain old vanilla.  So I poured the base in the ice cream maker, turned it on and let it mix for a few minutes and then I swirled some Nutella in while it was running. My thought was that it would mix and make a chocolate ice cream but it was even better than that.  It turned out a vanilla ice cream with ribbons of frozen Nutella running through it.  

I made a small batch since it was only me, so I only added about 1/3 cup of nutella. It was great.  I had bought some individual snack packs of Nutella with cookie sticks at Wal-mart and that is what I used. I have found that I am just not strong enough to keep jars of Nutella at that house. I has been known to call my name in the middle of the night.  But then for  a long time I did’t feel the need to count weight watchers points for things I ate in the middle of the night.  I guess that I thought if the lights were off it didn’t count.  You may think I am joking, but I really didn’t count them.

Back to the ice cream, much more fun to talk about than weight watcher points.  It was so good and then I used the little cookie sticks with the ice cream.  I have made up a recipe!!!!! Food network here I come.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 30, 2012 in My Favorite Things, Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

