RSS

Homemade Almond Joy Bars

05 Jul

Homemade Almond Joys

 

I am not a big candy bar lover, but I love Almond Joy and Reeses Peanut Butter Cups.  I know that you can run to the store and buy these but there is just something about making your own of anything.  It just tastes better and it gives me a certain feeling of satisfaction.  Sometimes the work is not worth the bother and I end up spending much more on the supplies than just buying them at the store. 

These on the other hand are inexpensive to make, are relatively easy, do not need any fancy equipment and are darn good, if I say so myself.

I first found this recipe on the blog Favorite Family Recipes.  I have borrowed several recipes from this blog and have never been disappointed.

These would be a fun Christmas activity (unlike the fancy decorated sugar cookies that Jordan and I made last year–what a chore. They were so much work that I didn’t want to eat them, plus they looked much better than they tasted) 

 
Ingredients
  • 1/2 c. white Karo (corn) syrup
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 10 large marshmallows (exactly 10 or the consistency is off)
  • 2 c. coconut – its better if you chop it more finely
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • roasted almonds
  • 1 bag Ghiradelli milk chocolate chips (they are worth the extra money)

Instructions

  • In a heavy sauce pan (over medium on the stove) heat syrup, marshmallows, and salt until marshmallows are melted. Continue to stir over heat for an additional minute. Remove from stove and add coconut and vanilla. Stir well and transfer to a bowl to cool in the fridge. The mixture needs to get cool enough that it can be rolled into balls.
  • In the meantime, melt the chocolate chips. I like to do this by putting them in a metal bowl and placing the bowl over a pot of boiling water. Stir until chocolate is melted and smooth. Roll the coconut mixture into small balls and press an almond into the top. Dip each one in chocolate then let cool on a chilled marble slap or on wax paper over a chilled cookie sheet.

  • For Homemade Mounds: omit the almond and use dark or semi-sweet chocolate chips.

 

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 5, 2012 in Recipes

 

One response to “Homemade Almond Joy Bars

  1. Rodney Anderton

    July 12, 2012 at 7:22 am

    YES!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

