RSS

It’s That Time Of Year!!!!!

24 Aug

I love this time of year.  The end of the summer and so much great produce  .   I love to stop at the road side stands and buy some fresh corn, watermelon and canteolope and go home and have just that for dinner.  I love Manning peaches and bought my first two boxes today. I wait all year for these. They are the best peaches you will ever eat.  I put up a fe batches tonight and we will eat the rest.  I like the later peaches a little better for canning. 

I made a batch of vanilla ice cream in my cuisinart ice cream maker the other day and then added some chopped fresh peaches at the end . I just used the junket mix that you can find in the jello section.  It is very easy and is surprisingly good.  The chocolate is good with some almonds added at the end.  All you need to add is some cream and milk..

Almost as good as fresh peaches is sweet corn on the cobb. There is nothing quite like it, especially slathered with some real butter and salt and pepper.  But the again, there are not many things I don’t like if they are covered in butter.  I am not sure why all the things that I am not supposed to eat are the the things I love  the most.  Wouldn’t be great if I had to tell myself, now don’t you dare have another serving of Kale or tofu!!!

It seems like the season goes by so fast when all of the produce is so plentiful.  There is a great way to preserve that fresh corn on the cobb taste. I did 6 dozen ears of freezer corn last night and will do some more next week.  This is so good and really tastes like it just came off the cobb.

First husk your corn.  Place the ears in a pan of boiling water for several minutes and then take them out and place them in a sink of cold water to stop the cooking process.

Now take the ear of corn and place it in the middle of a bundt pan with the narrow end fitting right in the middle hole.  Cut the kernals off using an electric knife.  Freeze in freezer ziplock bags.  I put about 4 cups in each bag.

Wonderful!!!

This is what Layne was doing while I was doing all the work…..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 24, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

