RSS

Frozen Fruit Cocktail

26 Aug

Have I mentioned before that I LOVE THIS TIME OF YEAR.   Oh ya about a dozen times, but I really love this time of year.  It will be perfect when it is officially out of the 90’s and then more than perfect when it is out of the 80’s.  Have I mentioned that I hate the heat.  Mix upper 90 degree weather with hot flashes and you have a somewhat testy middle aged women.  I love when the weather changes and the mornings are cool, when the leaves change, when pumpkins are for sale, and when I can to a football game and take a jacket and a blanket and hot chocolate!!

With peaches on and so readily available, this is a great recipe. I have not made it in a few years– a little busy.  I had a few peaches that were pretty ripe and needed to be used fast and Jace was home with strep throat and I thought it would taste yummy and feel really good on his throat. Now have I mentioned that I love when he comes home and I can spoil him.  Nothing makes me feel better as a mom than to still be needed–and that does not come very often these days.

I am posting the original recipe and then adding my changes

FROZEN FRUIT COCKTAIL

12 fresh peaches, peeled and cut into bite size pieces  ( about 6 cups)

2 cups sugar   ( I only add 1 cup, seemed like alot of sugar to me)

1 lb. grapes

1 large can crushed pineapple (not drained)

1/2 cup lemo

1 1/2 cups orange juice

I add diced bananas to this–about 6 or so

Mix all ingredients and put in ziplock bags and freeze.

You may also add other fruit like strawberries, mangoes, blueberries etc.  Just add to your taste.

Allow to stand at room temperature for 3 hours before serving (I like to serve it paritally frozen and think it is much better this way. 

My favorite way to serve this, is to put in a dessert glass and pour sprite over it before serving.  This is when it tastes really good partially frozen.  I just spoon it in the glasses, pour the sprite over and serve immediately.   This would be awesome for a shower . Speaking about shower, I think we will serve this at Jamie’s shower ( Brighton’s fiancee).  Everywhere we go and everything we see, I say that will be so cute for the shower.  Jordan and I have a tendency to go way overboard for these, I need to control myself.  I love to plan these, just don’t like paying for all the things that I think will “BE SO CUTE”!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 26, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

