RSS

Beer Bread

03 Sep

I tasted this bread for the first time on our honeymoon in Park City.  It was at a steakhouse (can’t remember the name) but I fell in love (with my new husband and this amazing yeasty, sweet bread). 

Last week when visiting the nurses at McKay Dee Hospital in Ogden, I had a salad at Hug Hes Restaraunt.  It was a BBQ chicken salad, and was one of the best salads I have ever eaten.  If you are ever in Ogden, you really need to try this place. Anyway back to the subject of beer bread.  They served the salad with a big chunk of beer bread and the love was re-ignited.

I went home and looked up my old recipe for beer bread.  The most difficult part of this recipe is getting in and out of the grocery store without being seen.  I am hoping that the old “the alcohol is cooked out” thing is really true.  If not I totally intoxicated my family last night as this bread was devoured in a very short time.

It can be made with the non achoholic beer, but you will need to add yeast to the recipe.  It will not be quite as light, but it is still good.

BEER BREAD

3 cups flour (sifted)

1/4 cup sugar

3 tsps baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 can of beer

Sift all of the dry ingredients together and then add the beer.  Stir until combined.  Pour into greased loaf pan.  Melt 1/2 stick of butter and pour over the top.  Bake at 375 for about 1 hour or until browned on top.

This is a bread that you can make and bake right away.  No raising needed.  I started making this when I started dinner and it was hot and ready when dinner was done.

Serve with whipped butter that has had a little sugar added.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2012 in Recipes

 

5 responses to “Beer Bread

  1. Amy Dover

    September 5, 2012 at 3:24 am

    YUM!!! This reminds me of the time I made beer battered onion rings and hit up my local gas station for a 24 oz. I was quite the site dragging in my three year old by the hand and my one year old on my hip. They must have thought I had quite the day.

     
  2. Carrie Brock

    September 5, 2012 at 5:27 am

    Hi Kim, was it the Grub Steak? That is where Kerry and I went on our Honeymoon too! love your blog! Carrie

     
    • Mommahill

      September 6, 2012 at 3:37 pm

      It was I loved it. Hope I won’t be called in to the Bishop’s office for this recipe or my next blog

       
  3. Katiethemom

    August 18, 2013 at 1:31 am

    bread was fantastic! thanks so much for sharing!

     
  4. Jesica

    December 29, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    I make this recipe all the time. Everyone always fights over the heel. So recently I decided to try it in muffin tins. It was a big hit, everyone got a nice buttery heel then! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

