RSS

Buttermilk Syrup

09 Sep

 

 

I love this syrup so much. I have used it for years.  Last night I was whipping up a little breakfast dinner to give Jace and Dave while they watched Utah State beat Utah.  What a game. I could not find my recipe book so I googled the recipe.  This is just a little different than my original recipe and I think I like it better.  It is a little darker and richer.  I will post both of them and you can be the judge. I will never go back to store bought syrup again.  This makes everything you put it on taste so much better–even a spoon.  It is fast and amazing.  Prepare to fall in love.

New Favorite Buttermilk Syrup

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 tablespoons corn syrup
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
 

Directions

  1. In a saucepan, stir together the sugar, buttermilk, butter, corn syrup, and baking soda. Bring to a boil, and cook for 7 minutes. Remove from the heat, and stir in the vanilla.

 

ORIGINAL RECIPE

 

1 1/2 cups butter

2 1/4 cups sugar

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

3 tsp vanilla

3 tsp baking soda

Melt butter and then add the sugar and buttermilk.  When it starts to boil, turn down and simmer for 3-4 minutes.  Remove from heat and add the baking soda and vanilla.  Serve warm.  May keep in the refrigerator for up to 2 week.

This seems like almost the exact same recipe, but for some reason it turns out much lighter in color and taste.  Try them both and prepare to see Elvis!!!

I made this syrup last year for Christmas and put it in these very cute jars;  I used the swing top bottles from Specialty Bottles.  Then I had labels printed with

HOMEMADE BUTTERMILK SYRUP

Merry Christmas

The Hill Family

They turned out so cute. I have ordered several different bottles from this company and have been very pleased with all of them.  Last year I made dipping sauce and used a bottle with a screw on lid and ordered thier plastic lid covers.  You just slip them over the lid and then use a blowdryer to shrink the plastic.  Makes for a very professional looking bottle.  The only problem is that they look so nice, no one believes you made them.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 9, 2012 in Recipes, Special Occassions

 

Leave a Reply

 
The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

