RSS

Roasted Tomato Basil Soup

17 Sep

If you are like me and have more tomatoes than you can eat, this is a great way to use them.  I have made all the salsa I need ( see previous post for a great recipe) and do not have many tomato eaters in my house.  This soup is so good and the roasting really makes a difference in the flavor.  I love fall and soup weather.  We are not quite there yet but we have had a few days that at least were below 90, so I think we are on our way.  A little off subject, but can I say I love fall.  Just about everything about it, cooler weather, high school football games, Monday night football, opening my windows at night andfeeling the cool air, pumpkins, fall decorations, the leaves turning, crisp apples, the farmer’s market, soups, hot breads etc. etc. etc.

Okay now back to the soup recipe

Roasted Tomato Basil Soup

4 lbs tomatoes, halved

8 garlic cloves left unpeeled

3 TB olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

1 onion finely minced  ( the last time I made this I sauteed these in a little olive oil — you could try roasting them with the tomatoes and garlic)

2 tsp fresh oregano minced ( use 1/2 tsp if dry)

2 TBS sugar

2 TBS meltd butter

3 cups chicken stock

3/4 cup cream

Put oven rack in the middle positon and preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Sprinkle oil over tomatoes and garlic and roast them until they just start to brown.

Place the tomates in a food processor and puree.  I like to leave it a little chunky, but you can make it as smooth as you want.  Squeeze the garlic out of the cloves and puree with the tomato mixture.  Place this in a large pand and add all of the other ingredients, except the cream.

Simmer to combine all of the flavors and at the very last, add the cream and warm. Do not bring to a boil.

I like to serve this with a little dollop (is that really a word) of sour cream and some baked tortilla strips.  You can make these yourself by slicing flour tortillas very thin.  Toss with olive oil or spray with baking spray and season with coarse salt..  Bake in hot oven (450 degrees)until crisp.  Or you can just order them by the bag at Costa Vida or Cafe Rio.  I buy a bag and keep them in the freezer.
 

It is supposed to be in the 70’s tomorrow.  I think that is cool enough to start the soup season!!!!  Now I just need some snow so I can quit mowing!!!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 17, 2012 in My Favorite Things, Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

