RSS

The Ultimate Comfort Food!!!

18 Sep

Do you ever have a day that just started bad and went down hill from there.  Well I had one of those today and I am sitting here feeling a little sorry for myself.  I am very grateful for my job and it provides us with the extra income we need and allows me the flexibility to also spend the time with mom caring for her needs.  I worked for many years as a nurse in labor and delivery and loved it.  I can remember when I first started, just loving to go to work.  It was fast paced, exciting and nothing beats the delivery of a new baby.  It was the perfect job and I feel so blessed to have had that experience for many years.  The drawback was the hours.  I worked from 4 am to 4 pm and that was a long day.  Then there was the on call, weekends, and holidays. My job now lets me be home at night, rarely work weekends or holidays, but I really miss labor and delivery.  This is much more adminstrative and it is sometimes very challenging to manage 5 hospitals with 5 sets of nurses, all with very different and strong personalities.  Today was especially challenging and coming home, I was emotionally and physically drained.

When I am feeling that way, I tend to see all the things that I am not getting done at home and that seems to intensify my feelings of discouragement.  Then add that to the things that I fail to acomplish as a wife and mother, let’s just say, I am not a shining example of mother, nurse or wife of the year tonight.

So my inner devil, said “you will feel much better if you go get some french fries or a big hot fudge sundae.  I promptly told my inner devil to “buzz off” and went home, got in my PJ’s, cooked me an “egg in a hole”, crawled in bed and watched silly sitcoms.  I can’t even tell you what they were because I have never seen them before, but they were the perfect mind candy to get my mind off of my day.

Sometimes being a mother and loving so much, can open you up to heartache and worry.  The saying is true, “motherhood is not for the weak” or something like that.  No one prepares you for how sad you can be if you see a child go through difficult times.  It is very true that a mom is only as happy as the saddest child.  I am a fixer and I just want to make it all better,  but part of growing up is to figure things out on your own and learn where to turn during tough times.  We can only do so much and then spend alot of time on our knees.  And I have three great kids. 

  Well enough venting–here is the recipe ( not really a recipe) for the ultimate comfort food for nights like this.

EGG IN A HOLE

Take a slice of bread and using a small glass or cooking cutter, cut a hole out of the middle.  Spray a skillet wth Pam or melt some butter if you want a real treat.

Cook for a few minutes and then crack an egg in the middle.  Cook for several minutes and then flip to the other side. 

Cook until desired doneness (not sure that is a word).  I like my yolk soft, so that when you cut it, the yolk runs out and mixes with the toast. 

Even though this is just bread and egg, for some reason, cooking it this way just tastes better.  For kids, it is fun to use different shaped cookie cutters, or a heart for valentines–how cute is that!!!!

v

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

