RSS

Shredded Chicken–A How To

02 Oct

Do you have any idea how many fabulous recipes call for shredded chicken.  Well I went to the website America’s Test Kitchen and did a search of shredded chicken and can I just say there was not time to read them all, but there were so many I wanted to try.  I love shredded chicken, but sometimes I can make it and it is very tasty and moist and the next time it resembles the chicken jerky dog treats from Costco, that my dogs will not eat.  Talking about treats for dogs–we were talking about that.  We purchased some gourmet treats at Pet Smart that looked like little chocolate cupcakes with sprinkles.  Paid $5 for a little container.  Well Charlie spit them out and Layne only ate them when he realized there wasn’t anything else.  May I say that I have very spoiled dogs.  Layne will not even eat a turkey subway sandwhich unless it is broken up in pieces for him.  What have I done.

Well back to the chicken.  I found this how to recipe on Kitchen Cafe, that she found on America’s test Kitchen

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 tablespoon olive oil

4 (about 2 pounds) boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Salt and pepper

3/4 cup water or low-sodium chicken broth

DIRECTIONS:

In a large 12-inch nonstick skillet with a lid, heat the olive oil over medium heat until hot and rippling. Pat the chicken dry and season with salt and pepper on both sides. Place the chicken top-side down in the hot skillet and let the chicken cook for 5 minutes until golden brown on top. Flip the chicken, add the water or chicken broth, cover the skillet and let the chicken simmer gently over medium heat for 7-10 minutes until the chicken is cooked through (it will register 160 degrees on a thermometer). Don’t overcook or it might be dry. While the chicken is simmering, add additional water 1/4 cup at a time if the liquid evaporates too quickly. Remove the chicken from the skillet. Let it cool slightly before shredding. The cooked chicken will keep well-covered in the refrigerator for up to 3 days or can be frozen for up to 2 months.

Makes 3-4 cups of cooked, shredded chicken

This chicken is so moist and flavorful.  This is a lifechanger–well maybe not a life changer, but that phrase is used alot and I kind of wanted to go along with the trend.  Let’s just say that this will make life so much easier to have bags of this on hand,  I am freezing it in small ziplocks so that I can pull it out of the freezer and use only what I need.

Chicken enchiladas, taco soup, chicken chili, tortilla soup, chicken noodle soup, chinese chicken salad, chicken salad, the list goes on and on. 

I love to take a baggie to work with some good lettuce mix, some craisins, a sliced green apple and a good fruity vinagrette.  The one that I have posted is a great one.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 2, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

