RSS

White Chicken Chili

02 Oct

Now that we have learned the basics for making great shredded chicken, I thought I would share this recipe for White Chicken Chili,  It is really tasty and this is the perfect time for soup and homemade bread.  One of the things I love about fall.-  This recipe originally came from my niece, Laurel.  I love her blog.  But there is one thing about having 4 children in a very short time, her posts of her amaing recipes have slowed down–probably along with her time and energy. It is amazing how kids can do that.  But then they are just as happy to get stove top mac and cheese as a recipe that you have slaved over all day.  Then they grow up and are never around to enjoy a meal you make.

Enough of that, although old, I still serve a purpose ( dumb and dumber — I know I didn’t get it right again)

I’m borrowing her picture also, since I forgot to snap a picture when I made this last!!  Thanks Laurel, I have tried and loved many of your recipes.  We are kindred spirits–boy I am really quoting the movies tonight and I think I got this one right–Anne of Green Gables.

WHITE CHICKEN CHILI

5 cloves garlic, minced

1 small can chopped green chile’s

juice of 1-2 limes

2 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. ground coriander

1 Tbsp. chili powder

salt/pepper to taste

3 cans white beans, drained and rinsed

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

4 cans chicken broth

1/2 cup chopped cilantro, plus more

hot sauce (optional)

shredded Jack cheese

lime wedges

tortilla chips

directions:

Shred cooked chicken.  Chop onions, saute in heavy pan with green chiles, until soft.  Add garlic, saute a few minutes.  Add dry spices, stirring until evenly distributed.  Add chicken broth, beans, corn, lime juice, cilantro and chicken.  Add hot sauce if chili powder isn’t hot enough for you (or a few dashes of cayenne).

Simmer gently for a few hours.  Toss in a handful of shredded Jack cheese, that no one should know is there.  Add a bit of cilantro and more lime juice right before serving.

Serve with jack cheese, lime wedges, cilantro, avacado and tortilla chips.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 2, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

