RSS

Conference Weekend and Omelette Bar!!!

21 Oct

I love General Conference!!  I love the talks, the music, the time of year, attending church in my pj’s and breakfast.  We always have breakfast for dinner between sessions of conference. I want to just relax and enjoy every minute of it, so I do not want to be cooking a big Sunday dinner. 

Our usual is blender pancakes with maple butter and breakfast pizza ( I will post those recipes later today) but this year we went with an omelete bar, fresh fruit, hashbrowns and sausage.  It was a big hit!!!

First I must say that I love my fritta pan from Williams and Sonoma.  This makes making omelettes so easy

OMELETTE BAR

I tried to make these a little healthier by using half whole eggs and half egg white.  You could do all whole eggs or all eggs whites or a combination of your choice. 

I beat the eggs until pale yellow and thick.  I then beat the egg whites until they were stiff.  Fold the egg whites into the beaten eggs.  Season with salt and pepper

Heat both halves of the pan over medium heat and grease with Pam.  Pour about3/4 cup of egg mixture into one half of the pan.  Cook for a few minutes.

I had all of the fillings prepared ahead and each person filled a small bowl with their choices and brought them to the stove as I cooked their omelette.  This would not work for a large group as it takes a minute to cook these.  This was perfect for the 5 of us.  I think I would have two pans going for a larger group.

I used the following fillings: ham, bacon, onions, peppers, mushrooms, tomatoes, avocados, green onions, spinach and cheese.  You could use any fillings that you choose.  I had raw onions and peppers and then also sauteed some for a little different taste.  These were so good!!!

After cooking the egg for a few minutes, add filling. Cover with the other side of the pan and cook until set in the middle.  Flip pan over and cook until browned on both sides.  Slide out of pan and serve.

I had extra cheese, sour cream and salsa to add at the end.

These were amazing!!!!!!!,

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in My Favorite Things, Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

