RSS

Pioneer Woman Smashed Potatoes

21 Oct

Every Saturday morning, I faithfully watch the Pioneer Woman on the Food Channel.  Last week, the menu sounded so good, it became my menu for Sunday dinner. 

We had ribeye steaks on the grill, fresh corn, my favorite salad (posted earlier), restaraunt smashed potatoes and a hot loaf of Harmon’s country french bread dipped in balsalmic vinegar and oil.  For dessert I made her Sparkle cake (not my favorite–I am going to tweek it a little and try again)

So today I am going to share the potatoes, they were amazing.  Of course they should be with butter, sour cream, chees and bacon.  You cannot beat that combo.  I am using one of her pictures, as I cannot remember what camera or phone I took the last minute picture of them before they were devoured by the family.  Hopefully this is not against the law or something.  Her pictures are as amazing as her food.  How does she not weigh 300 pounds.

 

Ingredients

  • 5 whole Large Red Potatoes
  • 1 stick Butter, Softened And Cut Into Pieces
  • 5 slices Bacon, Cooked And Crumbled
  • 2 whole Green Onions, Sliced
  • 3/4 cups Sour Cream
  • Salt To Taste (add Plenty!)
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper To Taste (ditto!)
  • 3/4 cups French Fried Onions, More For Topping

Preparation Instructions

Nuke potatoes or bake in the oven until fork-tender. Add to a large bowl and smash with a potato masher. Immediately add softened butter, green onions, bacon, and sour cream and stir with a rubber spatula. Add salt and pepper to taste. Add french fried onions and fold in.

Serve hot, sprinkling on extra french fried onions and green onions. Yummy with grilled steak or chicken!

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

