RSS

Roast and Yorkshire Pudding

27 Nov

This is the best of two families.  The Yorkshire Pudding from my mom and the roast from Dave’s mom. My favorite Sunday dinner growing up was roast and yorkshire pudding.  I can remember that mom always worried whether they would puff up or be flat.  This recipe that I found a few years ago never fails and always makes big fluffy puddings.  I have never had it not turn out.  I think it is something with chilling the batter.

This is a must on Christmas Eve with our Prime Rib. When Jace went to England on his mission, he said the yorkshire pudding were nothing like the ones we grew up with.  He liked ours much better.

As for the roast, I can remember the first roast I had up in Oregon on the ranch and thinking it was the best thing I had ever tasted. Texie taught me her secret and I have been using it since.  Like the yorkshire pudding, it never fails.  It is perfect for Sunday dinner as it is ready right when church is done.  I have added my own little twist the past few roasts and it is even a little better if that is possible.  I can thank my mom and mother in law for teaching me some great recipes.

Perfect Roast

I usually use a rump roast but any roast will do

Place the roast in a heavy roaster pan–I use my Le Creuset. Love this thing

There is a new Le Creuset Store at the new Outlet Mall by Thanksgiving Point.  You can get these for much cheaper there and they have every color and size.  I can’t wait until I save up enough for another size and color.

The roast will cook better and be moister if you use a heavy pan like this with a tight fitting lid.

Place the roast in the pan (uncovered) and place in a hot oven ( 450 degrees) for about 30-45 minutes until well browned.   Season liberally with salt and pepper and cover with the lid.  You can cover tightly with foil if you do not have a pan with a tight fitting lid.  Reduce heat to 250 degrees and cook until very tender about 3 hours.  Just perfect for block time. 

Lately I have been removing the roast and slicing it and then placing the sliced beef in my crockpot on low.  I spoon some of the juices from the roast over the meat before making the gravy.  This keeps the meat very moist and warm while finishing up the meal.  With Dave’s schedule, it also prevents dried out roast if he is called away on an emergency..  It also makes for easy serving, no carving the roast at the table..  Awesome leftovers.

Yorkshire Pudding

2 cups Flour

1 tsp Salt

6 large eggs

1 1/2 cups milk

drippings from roast

Sift together the salt and flour. In a medium bow. whisk together the eggs and milk until combined.  Add the flour mixture and mix well.  Cover and chill for at least 4 hours.  This is a very important step if you want big, fluffy puddings.  When roast is done, raise oven to 425 degrees.  Pour small amount of drippings into pan and heat the pan and drippings in the oven until hot and bubbly. I usually spray some Pam in the pan before adding the drippings.  Immediately remove the batter from the refrigerator and pour into pan.  Bake until golden and puffed about 25 minutes.  Serve immediately as they deflate quickly.  Serve with gravy or jam.  I use a popover pan for individual servings, but you can use a pie tin or a cake pan for a large pudding and then cut and serve.  We like the individual servings the best. 

This is the popover pan that I use. I purchased it at Williams and Sonoma but found some cheaper ones on Amazon.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2012 in My Favorite Things, Recipes

 

4 responses to “Roast and Yorkshire Pudding

  1. Amy Dover

    November 27, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    My mouth is watering. Can you move in with me and be my cook?

     
    • Mommahill

      January 6, 2013 at 8:52 pm

      ONly if I can hold babies. Can’t wait to see the next addition to the Dover family Love ya all

       
  2. jami anderton

    January 6, 2013 at 4:44 am

    aunt kim…. i just spent 30 minutes catching up on your blog. It’s almost 10pm and now you have me craving roast, marshmellow brownies, and crepes all at the same time. THANKS FOR THAT!!! haha! Just wanted to say the reception was beautiful last night! You all looked so gorgeous! so happy for jace 🙂 See ya soon! –jami–

     
    • Mommahill

      January 6, 2013 at 8:51 pm

      It was a great day and all the better to have all the people I love there to share it. I have been so bad with the blog but now with the wedding and Christmas over, I am back!!! For some reason it is a very relaxing thing for me to do and helps me unwind from work. Watch for the new ones coming tonight

       

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

