RSS

Fig and Proscuitto Pizza

01 Apr

fig pizza

photo courtesy of Pioneer woman since mine was gobbled up before I got a picture!!!!

Jordan and I used to love to go to Nordstrom’s cafe and have their Fig and Proscuitto Pizza.  It was sooo good.  Sometimes we would crave it and make a special trip down there just for that.  There was something about the sweet fig spread and the salty proscuitto that was so divine. We would always say that we would eat half and save the other half for later, but then we would get in the car and finish it off before we got home.  Well they did a really dumb thing when they moved to the new Nordstroms, they took it off the menu.  I have a good mind to just stop shopping there in protest, but then again that would only punish me not them.

I was so excited to see a recipe for this on Pioneer Woman’s blog.  It is pretty close to the Nordstrom’s one except for a few changes. I posted my favorite  recipe for pizza dough in an earlier blog. I love this recipe and it always turns out yummy. 

 I was in a hurry the other day and picked some up at Whole Foods at Trolley Square. It was really good. 

So whether you use homemade, or purchase some at Whole Foods, let it sit at room temperature of a few minutes Roll out 1/3 of the pizza dough as thinly as possible. Place on a large baking sheet.

Drizzle lightly with olive oil and sprinkle lightly with kosher salt. Spread fig spread (or jam) all over the surface of the dough. Sprinkle lightly with salt.fig spread

Lay sliced of mozzarella all over the surface. Sprinkle lightly with salt and freshly ground pepper. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until crust is golden and cheese is bubbly

Remove from oven and immediately lay prosciutto over hot pizza.

prosciutto3

Now I can’t remember the last time that I did not agree with everything that Pioneer Woman says.  In fact just saying that I don’t is somewhat blasphamis and I am waiting for the lightening strike.  But I am going to be a strong women of my own convictions and stand up for my beliefs. I do not like floppy uncooked proscuitto.  There I said it.  So at this point in the recipe I cook the proscuitto slightly and then add it to the pizza prior to baking.  Then I bake it at 450 until browned and the cheese is bubbly.  This makes the proscuitto crispy like bacon and even a little stronger salty flavor.  Divine with the sweet fig spread. 

Try it both way and see which one you are converted to.  I promise that I will not be offended if you go the way of the much more famous and successful cook and blogger.  I am just another wanna be that doesn’t even have any sponsers.

Just before serving, sprinkle on arugula and Parmesan shavings.

Cut into wedges or squares and serve immediately!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 1, 2013 in Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

