RSS

Yummy Fruit Salad

03 Apr

fruit-salad

A few weeks ago on pioneer Womans Food Network show she did a fruit salad with a citrus, almond glaze.  I love this time of year when fruit is so good, especially strawberries.  Sometimes I just want it to be a little fancier than the usual bowl of cut up fruit ( which is pretty darn good).  So on Easter I tried this for Jaces Birthday / Easter dinner.  It was really good and the glaze made the salad so shiney and pretty and I am all for shiney and pretty.  I loved the subtle vanilla taste.  I used the extract since I was out of vanilla beans. I think I would have liked it better with a little stronger vanilla taste, so next time I am using the vanilla bean or just adding more extract.  You can use any fruit you have on hand.  This would be great for a shower or party. I would add the glaze right before serving.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1 cup Water
  • Juice Of 1 Orange
  • Zest Of 1 Orange
  • 2 whole Vanilla Beans, Caviar Scraped Out (or 2 Teaspoons Vanilla Extract)
  • 4 pints Strawberries, Hulled And Halved
  • 2 pints Blueberries
  • 2 cups Red Grapes, Halved
  • 2 cups Green Grapes, Havled
  • Mint Leaves

Preparation Instructions

Place the sugar, water, orange juice and orange zest into a small saucepan and stir to combine. Bring to a boil, then turn the heat to low and simmer for 15-20 to thicken slightly. Set aside to cool, then store in the fridge until cold.

Mix together all the fruit in a large bowl and pour the syrup over the top, tossing gently. Garnish with mint leaves and serve.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 3, 2013 in Recipes, Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

