RSS

Another Conference Weekend–Blender Pancakes with Maple Butter

08 Apr

DSC_0008

I love conference.  I love the talks, I love the music, and I love attending church in my pajamas.  It is tradition that we have breakfast for dinner on conference Sunday.  I want to just enjoy the day and not be making a big meal and my family loves breakfast foods.  Last October I posted our omelette bar and said that our usual was blender pancakes and breakfast pizza but that we were trying something new.  I also said that I would post the recipe for the pancakes and pizza later that day.  Well it is six months later and I still haven’t posted them.  We had them today for our conference breakfast and I will finally get around to posting them.  This is my family’s favorite breakfast(dinner) hands down.  I have been making these pancakes for years and they are amazing.  They are so light that you can down a dozen before you realize it.  You have to serve them with the maple butter-no subsitutions period. I can almost convince myself that this is health food because it is made with whole wheat flour. But I think the big scoop of maple butter takes it out of that category. I hope you like these as much as we do. I think they will become one of your favorites also.

 I will post the breakfast pizza next.

BLENDER PANCAKES

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup milk

2 eggs

1 tsp. soda

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 TB sugar

1/2 cup oil

Mix together in a blender until well combined.  This is a fairly runny batter.  That is what makes them so light.   I make these a little smaller than our usual pancakes–makes me feel better about eating so many.  Do not over cook.  Serve with a nice scoop of maple butter.

DSC_0005

MAPLE BUTTER

1 square of softened butter

1/2 cup maple syrup

2 tsp vanilla ( it calls for one but I always like to double my vanilla)

Blend togther until smooth.  I usually do this in my Cuisinart.  Spread over hot pancakes

I know this is just combining what you would usually put on pancakes–butter and syrup but there is something about combining them that takes them over the top.  I could eat this stuff with a spoon-wait a minute I do!!!

DSC_0004

Just another one of my kitchen gadgits from Williams and Sonoma.  It is a batter dispenser.  Fill it up with the pancake batter and then you just squeeze out the batter over the hot griddle.  I know you could just spoon it on or use a cup or something but it just would not be as much fun.  Kind of reminds me of the ketchup and mustard dispensers I see the people use at McDonalds when they are mass producing their hamburgers. I knew I missed my calling in life.

DSC_0002

Williams and Sonoma Batter Dispenser

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 8, 2013 in Recipes

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

