RSS

White Cake and Peaches

15 Apr

Since I was on a roll with foodie memories that have been regurgitating from my brain lately (I guess that is not a great word for a food blog) I thought I would share with you another Leonard favorite.  I painted a picture of our Sunday nights on the ranch with dinner and dessert being catared to us by a loving Grandma  I listed pie and hot fudge, but forgot an all time favorite.  White cake with bottled peaches.

Now this is not some fancy recipe. To be honest, prior to visiting Oregon, I had never tried this nor did I know anyone that had.  No I am not talking about calf testicles, I am talking about a piece of white cake in a bowl with bottled peaches poured over.  I am not sure I am into the soggy cake thing, unless it is cream laden bread pudding, but Leonard swore by it and now has passed this down to Dave and Jace.

Try it you may like it.  That is what they told me about the testicles!!!

Now for me if I had a cake mix and bottled peaches, I would do something like this:

PEACH COBBLER

PEACH COBBLER

Southern” Peach Cobbler

1 box yellow cake mix
2 (15 ounce) cans peaches
1 stick (1/2 cup) butter
Cinnamon, to taste

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Drain the juice from one can of peaches into a bowl and set it aside. You’ll be using it later. The juice from the other can you can discard.

Arrange the peaches in a 9 x 13 pan.
Slice the butter (or margarine, as long as it’s in stick form) into about 18 pats. Distribute them randomly across the surface of the cake mix. If you omit this step, the cake mix will stay dry and won’t raise the way it’s supposed to.
Drizzle the saved peach juice over the top, then sprinkle with cinnamon.

Pop that baby in the oven for about 30 to 35 minutes or so, or at least until the cobbler has a lovely golden brown color.

Serve with iced cream or whipping cream

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 15, 2013 in Recipes

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

