RSS

Memorial Day and Golden Graham Smore Bars

27 May

photo

Today was the unveiling of Dad’s headstone.  It has been a year and a half since he passed away and we finally got it placed.  It turned out so amazing and I think he would have been so pleased.  I did not get a picture of the back of the headstone which is my favorite.  I will get one and add it later.  It has a picture of Dad’s airplane from the war and then missionary tags.  They engraved them on pieces of granite and then inlayed them into the stone.  They look so good. I think it is the prettiest headstone in the cemetary.  It may have taken us awhile to get it picked out and get mom to a place she was ready to order it, but it was well worth the wait.

We had a cookout at Ric’s and it was such a nice evening.  I have the most amazing family.  Everytime we are all gathered, it reminds me just how lucky I have been to have them in my life.  Tonight I looked around and could not contain the love that I have for each of them.  I have always watched my brothers and the lives that they lead and the families that they have raised and I am so grateful.  I am grateful for their example and the wonderful women that they have married and that I can call sisters.  I watch my kids interact with their cousins and I am again so grateful that they can watch them and learn from them.  I also watch my children and am again so grateful for who they are.  Most of all tonight I watched my husband as he talked and laughed with everyone, his love and admiration apparent.  I am again so thankful for the relationship that he has with each one of them.  It is these relationships that to me are the most precious and also so rare.  I am not sure that there is many families these days that can share these types of simple occassions with so much love and joy.  I am blessed and I need to take the time to reflect more on these simple yet so important moments.  Well enough about that, now on to the important things—–food.

Tonight Jordan was in charge of the dessert and made a very simple one that is always a favorite.  I watched the dessert table when she put them out and it was emptied within minutes.  The best was the kids that were walking away with one in each hand.  Well I had one in each hand also, but I did intend to take it to mom if that makes it any better.

golden-grahams-smores-bars-2-550

Golden Grahams Smores Bars

Ingredients:

8 cups Golden Grahams cereal
5 cups miniature marshmallows
1½ cups chopped Hershey chocolate bars (about two 4.4-oz size bars)
¼ cup light corn syrup
5 tablespoons butter
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cups miniature marshmallows

Directions:

1. Butter a 9×13-inch baking dish and line with parchment paper; set aside.

2. Place the cereal in a large mixing bowl; set aside.

3. In a large bowl, combine the 5 cups of marshmallows, 1½ cups of chopped chocolate, light corn syrup and butter. Microwave in 30-second increments, stirring after each, until the mixture is completely melted and smooth. Stir in the vanilla.

4. Pour the melted mixture over the cereal and, using a buttered spatula or wooden spoon, gently stir until all of the cereal is coated. Stir in the additional cup of marshmallows.

5. Turn the mixture out into the prepared baking pan. Butter your hands or spray them with non-stick cooking spray, and press the mixture evenly into the pan, pushing it down into a flat, even layer. Let set at room temperature for at least 1 hour, or pop them into the refrigerator to firm up faster. Store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 2 days.

Oh the Heavenly Gooeyness!!!!  These are so sinful and addicting but aren’t all sinful things!!!!!

golden-grahams-smores-bars-3-550

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2013 in Recipes, Whats up with the fam

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Memorial Day and Golden Graham Smore Bars

  1. jami anderton

    May 27, 2013 at 7:32 pm

    I’m going to blame my tears right now on this baby inside of me…or maybe the fact that those kids who ran away with 2 each of these treats left NONE for me! Where was I?!?! So glad you posted the recipe!

    The headstone does look AMAZING! I love the back also! We really are blessed…I tell Brett all the time that I married into the best family EVER, hands down!

     
  2. Mommahill

    May 28, 2013 at 7:50 pm

    These are sooo good. I ran right up there and grabbed 2 the minute she put them down. We do have a great family. Alot of that is to do with the wonderful spouses that we have added over the years. You add so much, each in your own little way. YOu have the cutest family and my children adore you. Thanks for the wonderful example that you are.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

