RSS

Creamed New Peas and Potatoes

30 Jul

DSC_0075

This is a definite blast from the past and I found myself taking a very splendid travel down memory road.  It is amazing how certain foods and smells trigger such wonderful memories and emotions.  I can remember Grandma Boyer and mom making these creamed potatoes and peas and I can’t remember loving them all that much.  Grandma Boyer was a huge fan of any kind of vegetable–I will never forget the cooked carrotts and baked sweet potatoes.  I can remember how disappointed I would be when I came through the door to find her preparing either of them and trying my hardest to avoid eating them.  But now!!!! I love cooked carrotts and baked sweet potatoes.

And this recipe is right up there on the top of my list too.  I guess if you add a cream sauce to pretty much anything, it will taste good.  The same for the butter and brown sugar on sweet potatoes. I am not sure if it is even the sweet potato that I like.  I made these for Sunday dinner and found myself awake stewing about something about 2am that night and they were the perfect snack.    S00000 GOOD and so easy.

grandma boyer

Ingredients

6-8 new red potatoes, cubed

  • 3-4 Tbsp. butter
  • 1/4 c. flour
  • 1 c. milk (or to taste)
  • salt & pepper (to taste)
  • 1 c. peas (fresh or frozen)

Instructions

  • Boil potatoes in salted water until just done/fork tender, appx. 10-15 minutes depending on the size of your potato cubes (you don’t want them overdone or they will get mushy real quick).
  • Drain and set aside.
  • In a medium-sized saucepan, melt butter over medium heat.
  • Slowly add flour, stirring, until flour/butter mixture becomes doughy (you may not need all the flour).
  • SLOWLY add milk, whisking constantly until mixture becomes smooth and creamy. You want it to be a gravy consistency so add more milk if it seems too thick. Add salt and pepper, to taste.
  • Add peas and bring to a slight simmer.
  • Carefully fold creamy mixture into potatoes until potatoes become well covered and serve!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 30, 2013 in Recipes

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

