RSS

Hawaiian Haystacks

08 Oct

Hawaiian+Haystacks+162

chinese sundae

These were the thing back in the 60’s for all large events.  Kind of like the ham and funeral potatoes for Mormon funerals.  These were the standard Mormon missionary farewell menu item.

I was cleaning out an old recipe binder of mine and came across this and my mind was flooded with memories.  Back then the farewells were a family affair and the entire family spoke, sang, gave prayers etc.  See the old programs below 

I loved these haystacks!!!!!

I am going to resurrect them and make them for my family.  When I told them what was in them, I did not get a very enthusiastic response.  But then again I don’t think I would look at this recipe and want to make it if I had never tried them before.  Come on –chicken soup, pineapple and cherries.  Does not sound too appealing.  But there really is something about this combo that is so good together.  If this was before your time –give it a try.

These are great for a large crowd as everything can be done before and guests can customize their own haystacks to their liking.  Kids love making these and many of the ingredients are really very kid friendly.

Be brave and give it a try.

Hawaiian Haystacks

 Ingredients:

  1. Rice
  2. Chinese Noodles
  3. Diced Chicken
  4. Grated Cheese
  5. Cream of Chicken soup mixed with ½ to ¾ cup milk
  6. Chopped celery
  7. Chopped tomatoes
  8. Grated Swiss Cheese
  9. Cream of mushroom soup mixed with ½ -3/4 cup milk
  10. Sliced Green onions
  11. Crushed pineapple
  12. Coconut
  13. Marchino cherries
  14. Slivered almonds

Place all ingredients in their own bowls lining them up buffet style.  Keep soups warm.

Layer in order listed-choosing ingredients to your liking.

1965.11 Farewell Program (#38)

1965.17 Mike, Barry & Ric

1968.6 Don, Ric & Afton

1982.12 Missionary Picture

1982.16 Missionary Talk Program

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 8, 2013 in Recipes

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Hawaiian Haystacks

  1. Rodney

    October 17, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    LOL….. We will have the Hawaiian Haystack every so often. My reaction is typically “really????”. I always seem to finish my plate and think to myself, “that was pretty good”!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

