RSS

Happy New Year

06 Jan

Like many things in my life, this blog has taken a back seat to Christmas preparations, celebrating, eating, and eating and spending time with my family.  It has seemed like it came so fast this year and was over even faster. Jace and Krystal have been here over the break with their 2 little ones, Stella and Quinn.  So it has been a wonderfully, crazy full house.

This was our first year experiencing the in law sharing and may I say, I do not share well.  It was terrible having Jace and Krystal gone for Christmas Eve and Christmas morning.  They did make it in time to go to aunt Heid’s house on Christmas day and participate in our very competitive yearly game of MAD GAB.  Jace was heard to say that everyone should marry orphans or at least someone that hated their family.  I think he missed us.  At least we had the dogs.  We spoiled them rotten.  The very large box of DOG TOYS was demolished in record time. Most were shredded down to the squeakers within the first hour.  Much like children, they only wanted the toy that someone else had and there were some very tense moments.

DSC_0423

I do think they had more fun than everyone, especially Kallie who experienced her most adulthood Christmas yet, receiving pots and pans and a crockpot!!!!  It was fun reminiscing about their favorite Christmas.  I am sure Kallie will not look back and say it was the year she got pans!!!!

It is Sunday night and Jordan goes back to school tomorrow, I go back to a full week at work,  Kallie is back to work also so we are all in a little bit of a funk.  I hate the let down and more than that I hate everyone leaving.  I have loved having everyone around.  I have cooked more in the past 3 weeks than I can remember and I have been in heaven.  I will try to remember the wonderful time we have had and enjoy the somewhat slower pace of January. Jordan and I both have to find something to plan and look forward to or we will be in deep depression.  I do know that it cannot include eating or shopping.  Time to budget and diet.  Oh how I hate January.

So for the next week, I am going to share some of the things we made and cooked over the holidays.  You’ll love them.  At least we did!!!!!

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

