RSS

Vanilla Granola

14 Jan

 

img_5132-001

I have a hard time finding granola that I like and I have tried several recipes for homemade granola and had been unable to find one that I just loved enough to make it at home.

Well I found this one on FAVORITE FAMILY RECIPES and the fact that it is made with few ingredients and a lot of vanilla drew me in.  I was not disappointed and loved this granola.  I made it with craisins and loved it.  It makes a large batch but that was a good thing.  It saved well in an airtight container and was great with yogurt, by itself as a snack or with milk.

Dave loves cereal and will eat it several times a day and this was a nice change from his usual pick.

Ingredients

  • 8 c. oats
  • 2 c. sliced almonds
  • 1 c. wheat germ
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • craisins or raisins, to taste (optional)
  • 3/4 c. canola oil
  • 1 c. honey
  • 3 Tbsp. vanilla

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 300-degrees. Combine first 8 ingredients (dry ingredients) in a large bowl. In a saucepan combine oil, honey, and vanilla and bring to a boil. Let boil for 1 minute then pour over oat mixture. Mix until all ingredients are moistened. Divide and spread mixture over 2 large cookie sheets and bake at 300-degrees for 20-30 minutes. Remove from oven and leave on pans until the granola hardens (it may be a little chewy and that’s ok.. if you prefer it not to be chewy at all, allow to dry completely).. Serve plain, with yogurt, or with milk.
 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 14, 2014 in Recipes

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Vanilla Granola

  1. Kitchen Cici

    January 14, 2014 at 5:35 am

    I LOVE granola!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

