RSS

Feast Upon My Words

22 Jan

 

I love the start of a new year as it seems to give me that desire to improve areas of my life that I have been neglecting.  I hate to admit that each year they are somewhat the same.  If I really thought about that, it could discourage me and cause me to ask “why bother”  But really if I am at least making the effort and setting the goals, I am moving forward, even if it is so slowly, you could miss it.

For the past several years, I have felt in somewhat a rut.  I do not feel as if I am moving towards anything or making myself better.  I have a saying up in my house from President Hinckley that states “Try a little harder to be a little better”.  I love that saying as he is not saying be perfect but just try a little harder.  For me that has been the deal breaker, because if I can’t do it all, I just don’t do it.  So as soon as I make a mistake or miss a night of scripture study, I stop.  This year my goal is to do exactly that.  Just be a little better today than yesterday

I have a favorite saying by Mother Tersea that helps to keep on track and not get so discourage.

God doesn’t require us to succeed; he only requires that you try – Mother Teresa

I do know that when I am focused on the things that are important, it is much easier to deal with the things that aren’t.  It is not necessarily what I am doing wrong, but what I am not doing right.

In past years I have set complicated goals that never reached fruition so this year I am setting very basic ones and building on them

SPIRTUALITY

  1. Daily Scripture Study.  I am reading the Book of Mormon now along with the book “Verse by Verse- The Book of Mormon.  I am taking a chapter at a time in the scriptures and then reading the accompanying section in the book.  I am making a short (doable) note each night of something I learned that night.  I am posting the notes here on the blog so that I have easy access to them in one place.  Hopefully even if you are not LDS or believe in the Book of Mormon and are reading this, the message will be one of joy and hope.
  2. Faithful Temple attendance-monthly

PHYSICAL

  1. Track food on WW app-when I was doing this faithfully I was very successful
  2. Exercise 3 times a week.

FINANCIALLY

  1. Start a budget and stick with it.
  2. Have a wedding fund

Date night once a month with Dave

Like I said they are basic and I can expand from there.  These are my cornerstones of self improvement and I think will increase my joy of life and make the other areas of my life more successful

The title of this blog is Feast Upon my Words.  I have been reading faithfully every night and I have found a strange thing happen.  At first it was get through my evening read so I could get on to my novel or check Pinterest , but slowly I have found myself becoming engrossed in what I am reading and I find things in the verses that I have never noticed before.  For the first time, I find myself saying, Boy this is meant for me.

SCRIPTURE STUDY JOURNAL

I am reading in 2 Nephi 9:13-16, where it is talking about when we are resurrected and brought before our judgment and have a perfect knowledge of our sins –every thought and action.  It points out that we would not even need a judgment as we will be able to recollect everything in our life and will know which kingdom we would be worthy of.  This caused me to really stop and consider all the little things I think, say and do each day and how I really do not want some of them replayed.  I feel the need to refine my thoughts and actions as to make the good thoughts and actions my default behavior.  This is very evident in the example that Dave sets.  He has over the past few years become very faithful in his scripture study and I can see the effects of that in his everyday behavior and his intolerance of worldly things.  Sometimes that can be very annoying when I like those worldly things!!!! But reading tonight has shed a new light on his life choices. Believe it or not he chooses scripture study over the “Bachelor”.

2 Nephi 50-51   I love how it states “Feast upon that which is not perishable”.  I had never really thought about this scripture until tonight.  How many things do we participate in everyday that do not make a difference or help us grow?  It is a lesson in spiritual economics. If we are spending time with these things that do not matter, we do not have time for the things that do.  How much time is wasted with things such as TV, facebook, pinterest et?.  John Bytheway stated “Satan works more from distraction than confrontation”.  I know this is how he gets me.  I am easily distracted. These things are enjoyable and are okay to do within moderation.  We need to balance it with the things that matter most.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2014 in Inspiration

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

