RSS

Scripture Reading Journal

28 Jan

I cannot express how much the few days of keeping this journal has helped me to feast upon the scriptures versus reading the pages to count it off my to do list. As I read I am looking for things that I have not noticed before. I am relating them to my life in a whole new way. All because I know that I will be writing my thoughts when I finish for the night. I apologize for my ramblings, but this section is for my records and this blog provides an easy method of documenting and saving my thoughts. If you are reading this and looking for a fun recipe to try, keep reading and you will find one.
Tonight I am reading 2 Nephi 25-26. Yes still comparing Isaiah. I marvel at the prophecies of prophets so many years ago, that have been fulfilled or will be fulfilled. In verses 15-16, it talks about the nations speaking from the dust. I was so excited because as I read this, I got it without referring to my handy study guide. How can a nation and it’s people talk to us from the ground? Through their records. And what records came from the ground? The Book of Mormon. I got it!!!!!!!!! Still not sure if I am ready to say “delightful” How many times have I shared with my kids, my experiences and what I have learned from them. We do not need to make every mistake to learn. We can learn from the experiences of others whether they be good or bad. That is what the scriptures are all about. We are human and have the same tendencies, trials, temptations and basic human nature. We see over and over the same patterns throughout history. How many times in the scriptures do we see happiness and prosperity when the people are following the commandments and are humble and teachable. Then after awhile, they become prideful and forget the ways of the Lord and bad things happen. Over and over this happens. look at these example and learn and avoid the pitfalls that they experienced.
Sin never was happiness and never will be. These verses talk about Satan as the master counterfeiter. He leads us to believe that we should do as we please, live life as we choose and that we need all of the earthly things to make us happy. He is very, very good and reels us in slowly. When we start to fight a little, like the fisherman, he lets out the line a little until we stop fighting and let ourselves be pulled in a little more. No one goes from faithful to unfaithful in one jump. It is a series of many, many small hops.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 28, 2014 in Scripture Reading Journal

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

