RSS

Scripture Reading Journal

29 Jan

Tonight reading in 2 Nephi 27-28
This is the chapter that is most quoted by General Authorities than any other. There are so many wonderful things in 27. It talks a lot about the coming forth of the Book of Mormon and the translation by Joseph Smith and how this was prophesized many years ago. It talks about the records that have been sealed, to be revealed at a later time. It is because of the wickedness of our days and that we would not be ready to hear the message in them. It makes me so curious as to what may be in them that we would not be ready to hear. It is promised that all things from the beginning to the end will be revealed. It makes me so want to be worthy to hear this. But as I was reading this, a very strong feeling came over me and the question entered my mind. Why should I worry or be curious about what is sealed, if I am not reading and learning what has been revealed?. I thought for a minute about how quickly I can finish off a large suspense novel and compare that to how long it takes me to read the Book of Mormon or how often I start and never finish. I have read parts of the Bible, but never the entire book. I have read the Doctrine and Covenants completely one time. I do not want to be standing before God and have to explain why I could not take the time to read the words that have been saved, translated and prepared for me. I feel a little bit like the child that comes to their parents asking advise, only to turn away and ignore that advise completely and wonder why they are sad and make bad choices. (my children never do this!)
One more thing that I have heard so often “With their lips they do honor me” This caused me to think critically of how often I do things with lip service only and not with the purest of intent. I can think of many. I think of how we, as our imperfect selves try to look a certain way around others–to appear “perfect” It is so easy to fall into the trap of putting on the show of activity, instead of doing things for the correct purposes and doing so out of the spotlight.
One of the things I love about my husband is that he is the same around the men he works with on sunday and the men he ropes with during the week.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 29, 2014 in Scripture Reading Journal

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

