RSS

Almond Joy Cookies

03 Feb

DSC_0435

I have been having my hair cut by the same person for close to 30 years. Christe from “Christe’s Cutaway” in Salt Lake. I have known her longer than I have known my husband. She cusses like a truck driver and is quick to speak her mind, but is the kindest, most generous person you will meet. And she does wonders with a haircut and color. I very seldom express my desires when I arrive for my once a month cut and style, but I never leave unhappy.
Dave would die if he knew what I spent, but at my age, it isn’t cheap to look good. It does seem like it is becoming a little harder to “look good” I want the haircut that will make me look 30 years old and 20 pounds thinner. She may be great but even she is not a miracle worker. I am not sure what I will ever do if she retires. I may have to have an opinion or something.
Well not only is she wonderful with hair, but a great cook and fellow foodie. When I was there this week, she shared a cookie recipe with me. I ran home that night and tried it. They were wonderful. It is an adaptation of a regular chocolate chip cookie recipe. I love almond and these have a great subtle almond flavor and the added crunch and flavor of the coconut is great.

Ingredients:

1 cup butter
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 ½ tsp vanilla
1 ½ tsp almond extract
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
3 cups flour
1 bag large flake coconut
1 bag milk or dark chocolate chunks

Directions:

Cream the butter and add the brown and white sugar. Add the 2 eggs and flavorings. Mix the flour with the salt and soda and add to butter mixture. Mix together. Toast coconut in a 400 degree oven until browned (not just golden). Add cooled coconut and chocolate to mixture. I used a small ice cream scoop to make fairly good size balls of cookie dough. Sprinkle with a little left over coconut and bake at 375 degrees for 10-13 minutes.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2014 in Recipes

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

