RSS

Scripture Reading Journal

03 Feb

I have been a little lax on my journaling of my reading. I have been reading but have not gotten around to making this post. I love being able to document my life in some small way in this blog, sharing the things that are important to me and the journey in my life to make a difference somehow, somewhere. It seems to make things more real for some reason when I take the time to document them. Not only that, but the older I get, the quicker I forget. To have this one place to go and look back on my thoughts is a wonderful thing. There are some great sites now that will back up and print your blog every so often. I think what a gift to my kids to have this and somehow see what was important to me. To see what I learned from reading the scriptures every day. If nothing else it inspires me to be better and to search and study more. I have worried these may be to personal to share on this blog and I hope that anyone stumbling upon this may understand the reason behind these posts.

It has been a big day today with the Super Bowl, go Seahawks!!!! It is late but I wanted to make a quick entry as the things I read last night made a bit impression on me. Reading in 2 Nephi 30,31 and 32. I love Nephi, and his teachings. I love how humble he was. His talks again remind me of being in a general conference. I have always struggled with reading the scriptures. I find myself reading along, thinking of so many different things, only to realize that I have read a chapter, without realizing what I was really reading. This past few weeks have seemed different and I think it has been in the way I have read. I have taken my time, only reading a few chapters a night but digging in and really studying them. I find myself looking forward to my nightly reading, where in the past it was a burden. I have doubted my faith and in doing so have doubted many other things . Chapter 31 and 32 teach us how to increase our spirituality and our faith. It is through studying these words and through meaningful prayer that we do that. If you take the time and effort to read and study them, you will see lasting benefits. Bruce R McConkie wrote: “May I suggest based on personal experience, that faith comes and revelations are received as a direct result of scriptural study”. In 32 it again tells us that we must feast upon the words.
Too many church members are denying themselves the blessings by only nibbling, not feasting. I am not sure if I was even nibbling– I would have called it a series of large meals and a lot of fasting. I could not expect to feel the spirit being poured out on me nor could I expect to understand what I was reading. I was not putting in the effort.
Former Salt Lake Temple president John K Edmunds wrote, ” Inactive goodness may lead to the terrestrial glory but never the celestial.
I find such comfort in these chapters. I do not need to be a scriptorian, I only need to put in the effort and I will understand and will see my faith grow. I do not need to worry about things to come, if I do these things diligently and have faith.
.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2014 in Scripture Reading Journal

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

