RSS

Little Bites of Heaven

04 Feb

DSC_0454

You can tell just by looking in our cupboards if it is Weight Watchers time again. I have de-junked and I am really trying to do a little change of lifestyle. My poor family-no treats and my poor dogs-no sharing. When I have a certain amount to eat, I am not going to share it with them. Maybe Layne will lose a little weight right along with me. We try not to upset him by using the word fat-just big boned. But let’s face it-that belly is not bone. For those of you that do not know Layne, he is not my husband, but my very large, (somewhat overweight) German shorthair. He is about the size of a small horse and does not realize that he is of he canine species. He tends to look down his nose at other dogs, pitying them for their lower station in life.
Here I go again rambling on and on and have not gotten to the subject of this post.
I found this recipe on pinterest. (I curse the day that Jordan introduced me to this addictive sport). It looked so easy and the recipe said that it was only 41 calories per candy.

Ingredients

1 cup plus 3 tablespoons melted dark chocolate
Dried cherries (optional)
1 1/2 cups whole almonds
Handful of coconut shavings (I did not use these)

treats

Directions:I made mine a little different than the directions on the pinterest recipe. I melted the chocolate over a double boiler until smooth. On a parchment paper lined cookie sheet place small groupings of almonds and dried cherries. Spoon the melted chocolate over the almonds and the cherries. I placed the cookie sheet in the refrigerator until the chocolate was set. The combination of the dark chocolate, the crunchy almonds and the chewy tart cherries is so good. It is amazing how just one of these will curb my craving for sweets. I allow myself one a day and pack it in my lunch for work. I look forward to it all morning and see how long I can go before I devour it. calorie count

Makes 32 pieces. I think that I made mine too big!!!!!!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 4, 2014 in Recipes, Weight Watchers

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Little Bites of Heaven

  1. Bunny Eats Design

    February 4, 2014 at 3:28 am

    I adore scorched almonds and these look lovely. I can never stop eating scorched almonds though, 1, 2, 3 is never enough. I’m thinking these might be the same.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

