RSS

Soy Lemon Flank Steak with Arugula

28 Apr

 

life has been so crazy the last month and each night when I crawl into bed (and I mean crawl), I have great plans to post, but after catching up on work emails, fulfilling my goal of nightly scripture reading and then feeding my recent Pinterest addiction, I have run out of steam Every time I try something new, I think “that will be a great post” I even take the pictures, but they have just not made it to the blog. Well I have a lot to catch up on so I may go a little crazy the next few days. The first one is a great recipe that I tried yesterday for Sunday dinner. Let me just tell you the menu. Lemon Flank Steak with Arugula, Spinach Strawberry Salad, Corn on the Cob and the most amazing curly herb fries. I will post all of the recipes, they were amazing. Dave was doing his What About Bob sound effects for most of the meal.

I am reeled in by recipes that include lemon and arugula. I saw this in a Martha Stewart Magazine and had to try it. So good and easy. A great summer entrée.

DSC_0490

Lemon Flank Steak with Arugula

¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
¼ cup soy sauce
¼ cup lemon juice (2 lemons)
2 TB packed brown sugar
2 cloves garlic, smashed
1 ½ pounds flank steak

½ bunch of arugula
Salt and pepper
Lemon wedges for serving

Whisk together the first 5 ingredients. Place flank steak in a large ziplock bag. Pour marinade over the meat. Let stand at room temperature for one hour or up to 6 hours in refrigerator, turning bag occasionally.

Heat grill to medium high. Remove meat from bag, reserving marinade. Grill uncovered, turning once until thermometer registers 130 degrees. I did not use the thermometer, but cooked it until just pink in the middle. It will continue to cook while it sets, so do not overcook. (it was about 8 minutes on each side) Transfer to cutting board and let rest for 10 minutes. I cover with foil to keep warm.

Meanwhile transfer reserved marinade to saucepan and bring to a boil, remove from heat.

Slice meat against grain and arrange on a platter. Arrange arugula on top of meat. Season with salt and pepper. Drizzle marinade over the arugula. Serve with lemons and remaining sauce.

 

This is somewhat like “Where’s Waldo?”   Instead it is “Where’s Layne?”

DSC_0488

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 28, 2014 in Recipes

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

