RSS

Herbed Curly Fries

29 Apr

DSC_0494

 

This year I got my own Easter Basket for the very first time since I was a little girl  Thanks to my wonderful daughters Jordan, Kallie and Krystal.  I love you Dave but my gifts have sure improved since the girls started doing your shopping.  I always seem to get just what I wanted.

I got the greatest spiral veggie cutter from Williams and Sonoma.  Now you can make all kinds of healthy dishes like Zucchini pasta, but I had to try curly fries first.

There used to be this great Restaurant  in Bountiful that served herbed shoestring fries.  They were voted “best in Utah” and for good reason.  I am not sure why they went out of business but I was so sad to see them go.  One reason was for these fries,  They were so thin and crunchy and salty and herby ( not sure if that is a word) but they were amazing.

Well I think I nailed it with these curly fries.  They tasted just like them and I have to think that because they are so thin, and cook so fast, they must be healthier.  Now I just need the low fat deep fryer at Williams and Sonoma–hint hint!!!!

http://reviews.williams-sonoma.com/3177/paderno-sprializer/reviews.htm

DSC_0481

DSC_0482

 Herbed Curly Fries

Now this is not so much a recipe as a brief description of how I made these curly little bunches of heaven!!!

First I cut up the potatoes with my spiral cutter.  You will need some kind of spiral cutter to make these come out in this shape and size.  I really think that is the secret to how good these are.  This cutter is so easy to use and you can have a plate full of spirals in minutes.  I didn’t even peel the potatoes. I heated some oil in a pan until it was just hot enough that when I dropped in a small piece, it bubbled and rose to the top quickly.

Usually I soak my French fries in water and pat dry, but with these I just cut and fried .  I used about one potato per person–we could have eaten more so it is a good thing I only made this much.  I cooked mine until they were a golden brown.  I turned the whole bunch one time to make sure they were browned evenly. When you lift them out, they kind of come out as one big piece so it is really easy to get them all out.

DSC_0486

After I cooked the fries, I placed them on a plate lined with paper towels and kept them warm in a 200 degree oven until I had finished all of the potatoes.

I seasoned them well with seasoning salt (I love this on all of my homemade fries much better than just salt).  I then went out to my little herb garden and grabbed some herbs.  I used parsley, basil, chives and dill.  I minced them up really fine and sprinkled over the fries.

I usually love my fries with ketchup or fry sauce but these were too good to put anything on them.  I wanted to lick the plate.  I can’t tell you how good these were.

I LOVE this little kitchen gadget!!!!!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 29, 2014 in My Favorite Things, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

