RSS

Grandma Cheltina’s Mustard Pickles

20 Oct

must 4

 

I love, love, love these pickles.  My grandma Anderton made them and after she passed away, my dad took over the job.  I can still remember him with his buckets of cucumbers in the brine.  He always made enough for all of us.  These are so good with roast beef and on a roast beef sandwich.  I can remember when Kallie was little she would pick out all of the cauliflower and put the rest back in the bottle.

These are a little time consuming and it is a two day process, but they are so worth it.  Since Dad passed away, I have tried to pick up where he left off.  I must say no matter what I do, they don’t taste like Dad’s.  When he was so sick, I made some for him and he was so excited the day I brought them up to him.  Certain things would bring a smile to his face–roast beef with mustard pickles, hot rolls cooked till quite brown, rice pudding with raisins and most of all sautéed onions on anything!!!!!

 

Grandma Cheltina’s Mustard Pickles

3 qt. cubed cucumbers (pickling)

3 qt. cauliflower cut in small pieces (I do a little more cauliflower and less tomatoes)

2-3 qt pickling onions peeled

3 green peppers, chopped

3 red peppers, chopped

12 small green tomatoes, cubed

Soak cucumbers, cauliflower, and onions in brine overnight.

Brine:

1 cup salt to 1 gallon water.

must 1

Next day drain off brine. Bring 1 quart vinegar to 1 cup sugar to a boil in a large roaster.  Add the drained vegetables and bring to a boil again.  Add the tomatoes and peppers.  Bring to a boil again.  Thicken with 6 Tb. Dry mustard, 1 cup flour, 3 Tb turmeric and enough water to make a thin mixture.  When thick, add 2 tsps. celery seed, 2 tsps. Mustard seed and ½ tsp pepper.  Stew for about 10 minutes to desired crispness.  I do not do any longer than 10 minutes as I like the veggies crisp.  Pour into hot bottle.  I process mine for 10 minutes in a hot water bath.

must 2

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 20, 2014 in My Favorite Things, Recipes, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Grandma Cheltina’s Mustard Pickles

  1. Rodney

    October 22, 2014 at 8:49 pm

    Since you are taking over for Dad…. Where do we pick up the order?? Haha. These are the BOMB!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

