RSS

New Light Fixtures

27 Oct

When we were nearing the end of building our house, I got to the point that I could not pick out one more thing.  Every time I turned around there were decisions to be made and at the beginning, I stressed and searched until I could make the very best decision possible, as if the wrong doorknob would be the end of the world.  Well by the end, I almost felt like closing my eyes and pointing.  That is about what I did with my light fixture in my guest bathroom downstairs.  Ever since then, I have really hated that thing.  It is silver with the tackiest glass fixtures.  Well I am on a cleaning frenzy and am cleaning every room, washing walls, cleaning out cupboards etc, etc.  Last week was this bathroom.  I could not take that light fixture anymore.  A new one was not an option right now with Christmas coming so I decided to paint it and take off the glass.  I figured I could not make it look worse.  I totally forgot to take a picture of the before.  But take my word for it , this thing was not pretty.  I found a pin on pinterest where they painted one and then replaced the glass with mason jars. That was my intent but my light fixture did not have the right attachment to do this, so I ended up just spraying the inside and rims and using one of those old fashioned light bulbs.  I was pretty happy with how it turned out, so I sprayed the towel ring, the toilet paper roll and the garbage can.  I love it.  I used Rustoleum Oil Rubbed Bronze Spray Paint. This is my new favorite thing.

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 27, 2014 in DIY, Home

 

Tags: ,

One response to “New Light Fixtures

  1. Amy Dover

    October 27, 2014 at 3:09 am

    I love that stuff!! We did our door hardware with it and it has held up really well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

