RSS

Christmas Morning Croissants

30 Dec

chocolate croissant

Last year my best friend Suzanne and I took a class at Sur Le Table on baking croissants.  It was so fun and the croissants that we made were wonderful. To give you an idea about the process, the recipe and instructions were 3 pages long.  It takes several days of making the butter layered dough and after adding all that butter, I had a little difficulty eating an entire croissant.  I am much happier to let someone else make them and then I can pretend that they do not have 2 pounds of butter in them.  When I took the class, I envisioned myself rolling these out often for my family and hearing oohs and ahhs as I took them out of the oven.  Well I can tell you how often I have made them since that class–zero, nada, zilch.  I just do not have days to make something that will  be devoured in a matter of minutes.

Well the other day as I was waiting at Trader Joes for the shipment of Cookie Butter to come in, I did a little browsing in the freezer isle.  I came across the Trader Joe Chocolate and Almond Croissants.  At $3.99 for a box of 4, I did not hold out a lot of hope that they would be any good.  I paid that much for just the butter in my recipe.  I decided to give them a try and I am so glad that I did.

You need to plan ahead as they need to rise overnight.  I put them out Christmas Eve before we went to bed.  The next morning I put on a pot of hot chocolate, pulled out the fruit tray that I had made the night before and put these in the oven.  By the time everyone was awake, they were just coming out of the oven.  They smelled and looked wonderful.  I have to say, these were amazing.  If you had put these on a tray with the ones that we had spent hours making at Sur La Table, I would not have been able to tell the difference.  These are so good and easy and make you look as if you had been working for hours.  I am going to make these a yearly Christmas morning tradition.

We tried both the chocolate and the almond croissants and loved them both.  I think I liked the almond the best, but they were both amazing.

 

tj almond croissants

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 30, 2014 in My Favorite Things

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

