RSS

Pickled Cauliflower

31 Dec

cau

At the Nordstrom’s Café at City Creek, they used to bring you a plate of pickled veggies prior to your meal.  Jordan and I loved these and were so disappointed when they stopped serving them..  Our favorite part was the cauliflower.  After our last visit , when they broke the news to us that their menu had changed, I came home and made a large batch of these.  Sometimes we are confronted with trials in our lives and the test is how we will respond.  I think we did pretty well!!  I can’t promise how I will respond if there are many more of these.  If they change to Diet Pepsi, I am not sure I can take it–even if they serve it with lemon!!  Last year they took the fig pizza off the menu and it took me months to get over that-or at least until I found a recipe for it.

I make a double batch of this and just keep replacing the cauliflower. I started out doing cucumbers, carrots and cauliflower but the the other veggies were never eaten, so I just went to straight cauliflower.  These are so good and you don’t have to feel guilty eating them.

cauliflower

Ingredients for the Brine

10 cloves garlic

2 cups white vinegar

6 tsp. salt

Several sprigs of dill

1 tsp celery seed

1 tsp coriander seed

1 tsp mustard seed

½ tsp. black peppercorns

½ tsp. pink peppercorns

In a medium saucepan, bring 4 cups of water to a boil, reduce the heat to simmer and add the garlic.  Cook for 5 minutes.  Add the vinegar and salt, raise the heat to bring to a boil, stirring until the salt dissolves.  Remove from heat.

In 2 quart size bottles, place a few of the sprigs of dill.  Divide the seeds and peppercorns between the two jars.  Add the garlic cloves to each jar.  Then pack the jars full of desired vegetables.

Bring the  brine back to a boil, pour over the veggies to cover completely.  Let them cool and then refrigerate.  These are good after several hours, but are the best after a few days.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 31, 2014 in Recipes

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

