RSS

My Planter Boxes!!!

14 May

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last summer when Jace and Krystal were living with us prior to leaving for Washington State to finish out Vet School, they made me some wonderful planter boxes–7 more to be exact.  Jace had made me my first two right before he left on his mission.  I have some pretty great pictures of him and Dave Bayley with the chainsaw.  Looking back, not a great mix.  I do remember watching them pull and pull the cord to start it for what seemed like an hour, with sweat dripping, only to discover it was in the “off” setting. Last week, I finished planting them and I am so excited to see how they evolve over the summer.  I was so undecided on how I wanted them to be done and looked and looked for online plans, but none of them seemed to fit what I had in mind.  I finally decided to just jump in and design my own, realizing that each year I can make changes I have It is a great mixture of the vegetables we eat the most and a nice combo of cut flowers. I have a full planter box of tomatoes, a full box of squash, a full box of peppers, and then cucumbers spread throughout.  I also have a box of lettuce and herbs.  I am going to replace the lettuce with more herbs when it is harvested. I tried to pick flowers that will make great bouquets throughout the summer, mixing perennials, annuals, and bulbs. Thanks Jace and Krystal for building them and thanks Jordan for painting them.  I love them so much!!! I will do some updated pictures as the gardens grow.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 14, 2015 in DIY, My Favorite Things

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

