RSS

Meet Walt

20 Jul

When Layne died, I told myself that I was not going to get another dog and go through this again ever!! The days that followed were terrible.  I cried at every reminder of that silly dog.  Even the littlest things would bring back a rush of memories and I would sob for hours.  I felt as if there was a big hole left where he had been.  As the days passed, I came to realize that with that deep loss, came a deep love that has brought us much joy and companionship over the years.  I would not trade that for anything.  I also realized that we were meant to have dogs in our lives and we had alot of love to go around.  I also noticed a sadness with Charlie.  He just didn’t seem to know what to do without his Layne.  That started the “browsing” on rescue sites and also trying to track down the breeder where Jace had gotten Layne from.  After some wise advise from Jace when he told me that he felt that we could not replace or replicate Layne with another German Shorthair, I just happened on a site for Weimeraner pups.  I had always thought these were so beautiful and had heard that they were somewhat similar to Shorthairs in personality.  So I talked Dave into just driving out with me to “look”.  This is when I knew how much Dave loved me.  He wasn’t ready for another dog and reminded of all that we would be taking on by starting over.  He told me all the logical things, but he went anyway to make me happy.

We drove out to West Ogden and the minute that we walked into the room with the puppies, I knew I was in trouble.  I think Dave did to because when I asked what he thought, He said “I will go get my checkbook”.  That was several weeks ago and yes all the things that Dave reminded me of were true.  I do remember one sleepless night thinking he was right and this was a big mistake.  But that was only one night.  Since then I have never doubted our decision.  Walt is a mini Layne and has brought us such joy in his short time with us.

Without further ado, Please meet Walt………DSC_0692

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 20, 2015 in My Favorite Things

 

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

