RSS

The Tradition Continues

03 Mar

 

arbys

We recently celebrated my father in laws birthday.  When he was alive there were not many things that made him as happy as a couple of Arby’s sandwiches and a large Dr. Pepper.  He was quoted as saying “The epitome of good feelings going down into my stomach.

I am so grateful for that man and the impact he has had on my life.  The biggest impact of course was raising a fine son that is a great husband and father.  I have been truly blessed by him every day.  The other was the experience that I had to know and be loved by him.  He did not say much but I knew how he felt. I have so many memories of our time at the ranch and they will forever be my choicest.

Probably the most important has been his impact on my children.  We tease Dave and Jace often about how they act and sound just like him as if that is bad.  In fact I am quite thrilled.  I cannot remember ever talking to someone and mentioning that Leonard was my father in law, that there were not words of praise.  An honest, loyal, hardworking man were often mentioned.  I find that same description  of Dave and the kids.

Each year on Leonard’s birthday, we all celebrate, wherever we are, by getting Arbys.  I remember the first birthday after he passed away, Texie made reservations at the Arbys in Kaysville.  I am sure that was a first for them.  When we got there, she said, “We have reservations, what should we do?”  The little gal behind the counter said ” Get in line and order”

This was EM’s first year celebrating the tradition.  I am sure they had a few very interesting talks before she came to earth.  She seems to be remembering them right now!!!

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
Longreads

The best longform stories on the web

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

