RSS

Creamed New Potatoes and Peas

30 Aug

untitled

My Grandma Boyer was one of the sweetest women I have ever met.  I cannot remember her raising her voice or speaking bad about anyone.  When I was growing up I lived in Seattle.  Every summer when school got out, I would board a plane and fly down to Utah.  I stayed most of the summer with Grandma Boyer.  I thought this was the best place on the planet.  My days were filled with horses and more horses.  Each morning my cousins and I would get up before sunrise, meeting in front of the post office.  We would saddle our horses and head to the mountains.  We would ride all day and come home dirty and exhausted..  I was in heaven.  I never dreamed that some day, I would be moving down here and have my own horse.  And I never even dreamed that I would marry a Utah boy that loved horses as much as I did.  I have been blessed beyond measure.

Now  back to the whole purpose of bringing Grandma Boyer up.  She was a firm believer in us eating our vegetables.  She loved to make cooked carrots, sweet potatoes, spinach and creamed new potatoes and peas.  I wasn’t so keen on any of these, but ate them so I would not hurt her feelings.  I have now grown to love all of them, but I have a real soft spot for the potato and peas.  This is such an easy dish and is so delicious.  When I eat them I think of grandma!!!!!

Ingredients

  • 1 pound baby red potatoes, quartered
  • 1 cup shelled English peas
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup milk

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil over high heat. Boil potatoes for 15 to 20 minutes, or until tender. Drain.
  2. In a medium saucepan, bring 1 cup water to a boil. Simmer peas in boiling water for 6 to 7 minutes, or until tender (do NOT overcook). Drain.
  3. Using the same saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Stir in flour to make a thick paste; gradually whisk in milk, stirring constantly until slightly thickened. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Now add potatoes and peas to the sauce; simmer for about 5 minutes, stirring often. Serve immediately.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 30, 2017 in Recipes, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Framed Cooks

My life. One recipe at a time.

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

Mel's Kitchen Cafe

Tried and True Recipes, Baby!

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

