RSS

Super Bowl Party

11 Feb

img_14521

I love, love, love the Super Bowl.  I love the game, the commercials and just the fun of having everyone over.  My favorite thing is to set out food and let everyone just graze  the entire game.  I usually make breakfast food but this year I decided to cook regular football food.

I now it is hard to imagine, but I kind of overdid the food.  As I was looking for recipes and ideas all week, I kept finding new things that I had to try.  By the time I put everything out on Sunday, it looked somewhat like Grand America’s buffet.

The Menu:

Crab legs, BBQ bacon wrapped shrimp, cocktail meatballs, pot stickers, Asian chicken wings, prosciutto wrapped asparagus, cranberry brie bites, cranberry pistachio cheese log, vegetables and dip.  For dessert there was chocolate fondue and nutella hazelnut bars.  For drinks, there was an Italian soda bar.  Told you I overdid.  And to top it off, there was only 6 of us and a baby!!

I am going to share the recipes over the next few days of the ones that were my favorites.

I am starting with the BBQ bacon wrapped shrimp, which was my favorite.

BBQ Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
Ingredients:

24 Jumbo shrimp, peeled and de-veined

12 Strips Bacon

Rinse and pat dry the shrimp. Cut bacon in half and wrap the 24 slices around the shrimp and secure with a toothpick.

The Sauce:

1 ½ cups BBQ sauce

¼ cups apple sauce

¼ cups honey

2 TB balsamic vinegar

Mix together the BBQ sauce ingredients and brush over the shrimp. Bake in a 425 oven until bacon is cooked through. This took about 20 minutes, but watch closely.

I then put these in a crock pot to keep warm. These were delicious. I could have eaten all 24 myself. Make sure that you use the jumbo shrimp. The original recipe called for maple syrup, but I used honey as I am not a fan of maple syrup in recipes.

 

bacon-wrapped-shrimp

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 11, 2017 in Recipes

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment

 
The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!